My Court

The 14th Court of Appeals is composed of 9 Justices – a Chief Justice and 8 justices. I hold Place 9 on the court and am running for re-election. The Court of Appeals has appellate jurisdiction of both civil and criminal cases appealed from lower courts in the 10 Texas counties listed below. After a case in one of these 10 counties is tried, the parties have the right to appeal their case to the court of appeals. We decide whether any errors were made during the trial and issue written opinions about the case. Our decision is the final decision for 90% of all cases, because the higher courts only consider about 10% of the cases from my court. I strive to write opinions that are clear and concise, following the law.

  • Austin
  • Brazoria
  • Chambers
  • Colorado
  • Fort Bend
  • Galveston
  • Grimes
  • Harris
  • Waller
  • Washington